The Pilot Inn
The Church of the Holy Trinity stood opposite from 1412 until 1824: it is thought that the Inn was called Church House Inn before the 1830s. The Inn then took a new name, the Pilot or the Pilot Boat: the vicar tries to remove the licence, but lost the day. A later landlord cut off a troublemaker's ear in a brawl but escaped jail by getting the local surgeon to sew it back. In Victorian times the landlord, Captain Axon, collected so much West African memorabilia that it was more like a museum than a pub. It now boasts on its sign on of Exmouth's lifeboat hero's, pilot 'Dido' Bradford'
Plaque Colour: Blue
Local area map loading...
Location: Pilot Inn
District Council: East Devon District Council
District Council Ward: Exmouth Town
County Council: Devon County Council
County Council Electoral Division: Exmouth Littleham and Town