George Gilbert Scott grey plaque in Lewes

Fitzroy House
Former memorial library
to hon. Henry Fitzroy M.P.
for Lewes 1831-1860. Built
1862 by his widow
(architect Sir
George Gilbert
Scott.) It stands
on part of the
site of the
Grey Friars
(Dissolved 1538)

Sir George Gilbert Scott (13 July 1811 – 27 March 1878), styled Sir Gilbert Scott, was an English Gothic revival architect, chiefly associated with the design, building and renovation of churches and cathedrals, although he started his career as a leading designer of workhouses. He was one of the most prolific architects which Great Britain has produced, over 800 buildings being designed or altered by him.Scott was the architect of many iconic buildings, including the Midland Grand Hotel at St Pancras Station, the Albert Memorial, and the Foreign and Commonwealth Office, all in London, St Mary's Cathedral, Glasgow, the main building of the University of Glasgow, and St Mary's Cathedral in Edinburgh.

Source: dbpedia

Local area map loading...
All plaques in Lewes

Tell us what you know about George Gilbert Scott grey plaque in Lewes

BluePlaquePlaces.co.uk is a Good Stuff website.