The Football League (formed in 1888)

Sorry, we don't have a photo of The Football League.

Map loading...

The Football League is a league competition featuring professional men's association football (soccer) clubs from England and Wales. Founded in 1888, it is the oldest such competition in world football. It was the top-level football league in England from its foundation in the 19th century until 1992, when the top 22 clubs split away to form the Premier League. The Football League has been associated with a title sponsor since 1983. As this sponsor has changed over the years the league too has been known by various names. Presently, it is called the Sky Bet Football League after its sponsor, Sky Betting and Gaming.Since 1995 it has had 72 clubs evenly divided into three divisions, which are known as the Championship, League One, and League Two, with 24 clubs in each division. Promotion and relegation between these divisions is a central feature of the League and is further extended to allow the top Championship clubs to exchange places with the lowest placed clubs in the Premier League, and the bottom clubs of League Two to switch with the top clubs of the Football Conference, thus integrating the League into the English football league system. Although primarily a competition for English clubs, one club from Wales, Newport County, also takes part, while in the past Cardiff City, Swansea City, Wrexham, Merthyr Town and Aberdare Athletic have been members.The Football League is also the name of the governing body of the league competition, and this body also organises two knock-out cup competitions, the Football League Cup and the Football League Trophy. The operations centre of The Football League is located in Preston, while its commercial office is in London. It was formerly based in Lytham St Annes, after its original spell in Preston.

Source: dbpedia is a Good Stuff website.