University of Birmingham (built in 1900)

Map loading...

The University of Birmingham (informally Birmingham University) is a British red brick university located in the city of Birmingham, United Kingdom. It received its royal charter in 1900 as a successor to Birmingham Medical School (1825) and Mason Science College (1875). Birmingham was the first red brick university to gain a charter. It is a founding member of both the Russell Group of British research universities and the international grouping of research universities, Universitas 21.The student population includes around 17,000 undergraduate and 9,000 postgraduate students, making the 11th largest in the UK. University of Birmingham was ranked 10th in the UK and 62nd in the world by QS World University Rankings in 2013. The annual income of the institution for 2010–11 was £470.7 million, with an expenditure of £443.7 million.The University was named University of the Year in 2013.The University is home to the Barber Institute of Fine Arts, housing works by Van Gogh, Picasso and Monet, the Lapworth Museum of Geology, and the Joseph Chamberlain Memorial Clock Tower, which is a prominent landmark visible from many parts of the city. Birmingham's sport activities have been consistently ranked within the top three in British Universities competitions for the past 15 years. Alumni include former British Prime Ministers Neville Chamberlain and Stanley Baldwin who attended Mason Science College prior to its incorporation into the University, foreign heads of state and government, royalty, and eight Nobel laureates.

Source: dbpedia is a Good Stuff website.